YETI SET GO, “FAVORITE”

With a song called, “Favorite,” you’d imagine something saccharine and sweet to your partner or your grandma or your best friend. But that’s not how Yeti Set Go roll. In this song, Celeste Flock compares the person she’s singing to to Mean Girls’ Regina George, which is not a good look. (I haven’t seen the movie, and even I know that.)

It’s a surfy, indie piece with guitars and vocals that are teetering on the off-pitch in an endearing way. It’s always the content that grabs me with Yeti Set Go, though I do like their Yo La Tengo-esque sound. It’s a reverse empowerment song about LETTING the bad guy win what they want, because “I’ve got other avenues to glow.”

“You can be the favorite, I can be the second best / You can be the prima donna of this show / You can be the winner of employee of the month…” It’s a song that’s a reminder that when you really know what you have to offer, you don’t have anything to prove to anybody. Someone, like the person Celeste is singing about, who always has to be number one, is probably hiding something, namely their huge insecurities.

“What if I handed you the trophy? / It’s just a piece of plastic anyway.” That’s the thing about fighting dirty for this or that reward. If you’ve shredded all of your integrity and kindness in the process, what’s the prize even worth? It’s a catchy song with a comedic twist. Yeti Set Go are comedy rockers at heart, and the songs that I’ve heard always make me nod in agreement and chuckle unexpectedly. It’s always a treat to see what new angle they’re gonna approach something with. This single, while not the most polished sonically, has heart for miles. Definitely keep your eyes out for Yeti Set Go.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started